h1

The Cambodian Sojourn, Grand Finale

October 13, 2008

Power without skill and control is nothing more than giving the ignorant a gun and telling them that something fun happens when you pull the trigger.

*************

3rd October; in a continuation from yesterday’s post, we had dinner after the Angkor trip, and then naturally, shopping time.

Another market; woah.

Another market; woah.

Now I know what I need to do in order to buy a ton of stuff; just roll my eyes before entering and tell myself that “there’s nothing for me here”, chances are I’ll walk away with more than expected.

Buy , bargin, buy. Repeat.

Buy , bargain, buy. Repeat.

Cut in to the next day, 4th October, Saturday. The morning call was at 7.00 am. A bit later than when we were going to Siem Reap, but still early, nonetheless.

Customary scenic shot.

Customary scenic shot.

It was six hours there and naturally, it was six hours back. Once again, I was too busy admiring the view of all those neat, orderly rice farms to sleep.

P

The field of carnage during lunchtime. 😛

Not really surprising that we were back at the Royal Palace Hotel when we arrived in Phnom Penh. Talk about full-circle…

A quick rest, and then we were off for our second-last mission; a few members would go along with the lecturer and adults to get some farewell gifts for the kids (we bought stationery); the rest of the IIT Company would proceed back to the Central Market we were at back on Wednesday and get whatever they wanted.

When I saw this, I was all WA SHOCK.

When I saw this, I was all WA SHOCK.

I’m assuming that this isn’t some obscure title from Japan… I’m betting no, though. I was fully expecting the only things anime/manga for the entire duration of the trip to be the songs in my cell phone. WA SHOCK indeed.

Two of the small stationery-buying squad. There were about six bags of that size.

Two of the small stationery-buying squad. There were about six bags of that size.

That’s a lot of crayons, color pencils and exercise books…

The Central Market in the background.

The Central Market in the background.

Then, assembling at the extraction point, the entire team filed into the bus. A quick dinner, and then it’s the final mission of the trip (apart from waking up tomorrow in time for the flight). A short presentation to the people-in-charge who had made the entire trip possible.

Hi, were selling our house!

"Hi, we're selling our house!"

There were a total of three groups, and each of us took turns in presenting. Naturally, I suck at it. All the pressure! All the eyes!

The only shot of the people whom we presneted to.

The only shot of the people whom we presented to. I couldn't get a better one.

Ack, I forgot their names! 8(

With all the important stuff over and done with, we were free to do whatever we liked short of setting ourselves on fire and disturbing the entire country. Knowing full well that less than six hours of sleep would turn me into a walking “Hi-sorry-for-being-late” wreck, I turned in. The rest partied hard; I have no idea how can they wake up with only three hours of sleep. Well, each to his/her own.

And of all to happen, I still woke up with barely any time to spare. Screw it~

Exterior shot of the airport.

Exterior shot of the airport.

None of the hustle and bustle of Changi International Airport. I don’t know whether to call it good ambience or a bad thing.

Our faithful transport and its faithful driver, somewhere in front.

Our faithful transport and its hardworking driver, somewhere in front.

Bye, CellCard bus. I’m gonna miss ya~ T_T

Arriving at the airport, we made our usual procedures, bought a bit of breakfast, and, at 9am Cambodian time, boarded the plane.

Nice and quiet. Processing speed for flight details is still the same.

Nice and quiet. Processing speed for flight details is still the same.

Full circle indeed.

Full circle indeed.

PHUA CHENFEIMS again?!

We reached Singapore at 12.50pm. Lost an hour. 😦

And now you’ve reached the conclusion of the trip. Fun? Yes, it certainly was, but it also made me see how privileged I was. I know it sounds like an overused cliche, but sometimes Singaporeans just need to sit back and just review and note the stuff they do, give thanks for what they have… instead of wondering when their next paycheck is going to come from. Being hardworking is a virtue, but not to the extent that you work for the work, and not the other way ’round. Those kids in Cambodia were happy with their lives, and their lives consist of living above a heavily polluted area of the river teeming with god-knows-what and selling cans for a living. An ignorant Singaporean would have simply made the customary squeamish sounds.

Would I go back?

… …

Yeah, why not. 😀

